Boys Varsity Basketball · Marquette Drops 62-50 Affair to Illiana Christian


away
62 Illiana Christian High School
home
50 Marquette Catholic High School
Away   Home
Away Home
Illiana Christian High School vs Marquette Catholic High School
62 50
1 17   10
2 12   10
3 21   15
4 12   15

An 18-point second half from junior Britain Harris wasn’t enough to propel the Blazers to a comeback win versus Illiana Christian Wednesday night. Harris led all scorers with 24, but the visiting Vikings emerged from the Scholl Center with a 62-50 victory.

Illiana Christian recorded the first seven points of the contest. Marquette bounced back as Harris fed Gary Lewis for a trey. Lewis returned the favor on the following possession, assisting on the first of five triples out of the hand of Harris. IC closed the quarter with a small run to seize a 17-10 lead.

Junior Kaden Manna went to work in the paint in the second quarter. He dropped in a couple of baskets while Harris drained another three. However, Illiana Christian’s Adam Gibson knocked down his third trey of the half to protect the Viking cushion. Marquette trailed 29-20 at the intermission.

Harris (8) and Lewis (5) combined for 13 of Marquette’s 15 third-quarter points. Meanwhile, Illiana received scoring contributions from five sources to extend its lead to 50-35 entering the fourth quarter.

The Blazers started the final frame with a 7-0 run to cut the margin to single digits. Harris added 10 to his point total in the fourth while Manna registered another bucket to move into double figures with 10 points. The Vikings preserved the win, though, thanks in large part to Ian Van Beek, who scored all eight of his points off the bench over the last eight minutes.

Marquette (13-7) visits Elkhart Christian Academy Saturday evening. The JV contest will begin at 6 pm ET/5 pm CT with varsity to follow at approximately 7:30 pm ET/6:30 pm CT.